Psalm 86:17 God’s Favor

“Show me a sign for good, that those who hate me may see it and be ashamed, because You, LORD, have helped me and comforted me.”

Psalm 86:17

Shew me a token for good – Hebrew, “Make me a sign for good”. That is, Do that for me in my trouble which will be evidence that You favor me and will save me.

Let there be such an obvious intervention on my behalf that others may see it and be convinced that You are God and that you are the Protector and Friend of those who put their trust in The Lord ….

We need not suppose that the psalmist refers to a miracle. Any intervention which would save him from the hands of his enemies and would rescue him when there seemed to be no help, would be evidence enough so that they could not doubt that he was the friend of God.

“And be ashamed” That is, they would be disappointed and confounded and there would be proof that God was the Protector of all who put their trust in Him.

gods-favor-st-pats-550x320

Leave a Reply

